Leakage Detection

Reliable and complete detection of leaks in pipelines, dams, LNG and many other applications

Mode of operation

Leak monitoring is used not only for pipelines and tube systems transporting gas and liquids, but also at storage locations for tank and reservoir monitoring. In addition to protecting against the loss of transported materials, distributed fiber-optic sensing is used to reduce environmental hazards and spill-risks for example explosion-protection with LNG tanks and pipelines.

Distributed fiber-optic leak detection systems are found not only in the oil & gas industry, but also in monitoring district heating and water supply- and treatment facilities. Depending on the exact application, measurements are based on three different principles.

For systems with an adequate temperature difference between the transported material and the surrounding environment, or those with a high pressure differential where the Joules-Thompson law can be applied, leaks are effectively detected and localized with a temperature sensing cable.

For applications where this does not work, but for which there is adequate pressure in the transportation system, leaks are detected based on sound and vibration utilizing acoustic sensing cables.

Strain sensitive cables can also be used to detect leaks in specific cases where the transported liquid changes the strain in the cable or surrounding material. In cases where external mounting of the sensing cable on the transport system is not possible, a strain cable can be floated in the pipe and fixed the inner wall to detect leaks through pressure drops.

ADVANTAGES

  • Long distances: Monitoring of structures across tens of kilometers with a single cablel
  • Maintenance free: cables operate maintenance-free for decades
  • Save: passive, fiber-optic sensing enables safe sensing of explosive materials (ex. LNG tank monitoring)

APPLICATIONS

Pipeline Monitoring

In order to detect the tiniest leak, acoustic and vibration sensitive sensor cables are installed directly on the piping. Acoustic sensing enables protection against “tapping” and dangers from construction equipment. For leak detection through temperature sensing, cables can be installed at a specific stand-off from the pipeline. This is an advantage for pipelines in use.

Installed Products: BRUsens DAS AC1, BRUsens DTS AHFO

Reservoir Monitoring

Monitoring for dams and reservoirs utilizes temperature sensing, in particular for humidity and flow sensing. Heatable fiber-optic cables are often used for these applications (see humidity monitoring)

Installed Products: BRUsens DTS AHFO, BRUsens DTS BSTE

Tank Monitoring

Tank monitoring is often used for explosive goods storage (e.g. LNG). Leaks are detected with acoustic and vibration monitoring – the corresponding pressure difference is used for measurement, as well as also humidity differences. In contrast to reservoir monitoring, heatable cables can not be used because of the risk of eplosion.

Installed Prodcts: BRUsens DAS AC1, BRUsens DTS BSTE

PRODUCTS

BRUsens DAS AC1
BRUsens DAS AC1
BRUsens DAS AC1
Acoustic Distributed fiber-optic cable with bundled metallic core and a PA outside shield Product Data Sheet
BRUsens DTS AHFO
BRUsens DTS AHFO
BRUsens DTS AHFO
Distributed fiber optic temperature sensor cable with metal loose tube, steel wire armouring and copper conductor for actively heated fiber optic measurements Product Data Sheet
BRUsens DTS BSTE
BRUsens DTS BSTE
BRUsens DTS BSTE
Distributed fiber optic temperature sensor cable with metal loose tube, steel wire armouring and a PA outer sheath Product Data Sheet
BRUsens DSS V9
BRUsens DSS V9
BRUsens DSS V9
Distributed fiber optic strain gauge cable with metal loose tube and a structured PA outer sheath for strain measurement up to 1% Product Data Sheet

More products upon request

image-circle
Andrea Fasciati

Director Sales

close

Contact Person

image-circle
Andrea Fasciati

Director Sales

andrea.fasciati@solifos.com

Leakage Detection

Zuverlässige und lückenlose Detektion von Leckagen an Pipelines, Dämmen, LNG und vielen anderen Anwendungen

Funktionsweise

Leckage Überwachung beschränkt sich nicht nur auf Rohrsysteme und Pipelines, also an Strukturen, die Gase und Flüssigkeiten transportieren, sondern kann auch da eingesetzt werden wo solche zwischen- oder endgelagert werden. Man spricht hier auch von Tank- und Reservoir Monitoring. Neben dem Verlust von Transportgut spielen zunehmend auch der Umweltschutz und die Gefahrenpotentialreduktion eine grosse Rolle (Explosions-Schutz bei LNG Tanks oder Pipelines).

Leckage Überwachung findet man nicht nur im Öl- und Gas-Geschäft, sondern auch bei Übertragung von Fernwärme und bei Wasserversorgungs-/ entsorgungs-Systemen. Je nach Anwendungsfall können auf drei verschiedene Prinzipien zurückgegriffen werden.

In Systemen, bei welchen ein genügend grosses Temperaturdifferenzial zwischen Transportgut und Umgebung besteht, oder in Systemen, in welchen aufgrund eines hohen Druckunterschiedes auf das Joules-Thompson Gesetz zum Tragen kommt, kann man Leckage am einfachsten mittels Temperatur-Sensorkabel feststellen und lokalisieren.

Wo dies nicht funktioniert, jedoch der Druck innerhalb des Transportsystems einen Mindestwert übertrifft, können Lecks mittels Geräusch- oder Vibrations-Detektion ermittelt werden. Dazu werden akustisch sensitive Sensorkabel eingesetzt.

Auch Dehnungs-Sensorkabel können in gewissen Fällen für Leckage Überwachung eingesetzt werden werden, wenn entweder die Flüssigkeit selber eine Dehnungsänderung auf dem Kabel bewirkt, oder wenn die Leckage indirekt eine Dehnungsänderung auf ein umliegendes Material hervorruft. In Fällen, bei welchem der externe installationstechnische Zugang zu den Transportsystemen nicht mehr möglich ist, kann man Dehnungskabel in die Rohre einschwemmen und fixieren, und Leckage durch Druckabfall erkennen.

VORTEILE

  • Lange Distanzen: Überwachung von Strukturen von mehreren Dutzend Kilometern mit nur einem Sensorkabel
  • Wartungsfrei: Sensorkabel sind wartungsfrei und gewährleisten jahrzehntelangen Betrieb
  • Sicher: Passive Sensoren gewähren Sicherheit bei explosionsgefährdeten Gütern (z.B. LNG Tanküberwachung)

Anwendungsbeispiele

Pipeline Monitoring

Bei akustischer oder vibrationstechnischer Überwachung der Pipeline sollten die Sensorkabel in direktem Kontakt mit den Rohren installiert werden, um auch kleinste Lecks detektieren und orten zu können. Akustische Überwachung ermöglicht gleichzeitig Schutz gegen „Tapping“ oder Gefahren durch Baumaschinen. Wird Leckage mittels Temperatursensoren überwacht, können diese auch in einem bestimmten Abstand des Rohrsystems installiert werden, was bei bereits operativen Pipelines von Vorteil ist.

Eingesetzte Produkte: BRUsens DAS AC1, BRUsens DTS AHFO

Reservoir Monitoring

Reservoir-Monitoring im Falle von Dämmen und Staumauern beruht in der Regel auf Beobachtung des Temperaturverhaltens – es geht vor allem um Feuchtigkeits- und Durchflussüberwachung. Oft werden in solchen Applikationen heizbare Sensorkabel eingesetzt (siehe auch Feuchtigkeits-Monitoring).

Eingesetzte Produkte: BRUsens DTS AHFO, BRUsens DTS BSTE

Tank Monitoring

Tank Monitoring wird vor allem dort betrieben, wo explosive Güter lagern (z.B. LNG). Leckage kann hier mittels akustischer / vibrationstechnischer Überwachung geschehen – der dazu notwendige Druckunterschied ist gegeben, aber auch mittels Feuchtigkeitsbeobachtung. Im Gegensatz zu dem Reservoir-Monitoring dürfen aus Explosionsschutzgründen hier auf keinen Fall heizbare Kabel eingesetzt werden.

Eingesetzte Produkte: BRUsens DAS AC1, BRUsens DTS BSTE

Produkte

BRUsens DAS AC1
BRUsens DAS AC1
BRUsens DAS AC1
Verteiltes faseroptisches Akustikmesskabel mit Metallbündelader und einem PA-Außenmantel Produktdatenblatt
BRUsens DTS AHFO
BRUsens DTS AHFO
BRUsens DTS AHFO
Verteiltes faseroptisches Temperatursensorkabel mit Metallbündelader, Stahldrahtarmierung und Kupferleiter für aktiv beheizte faseroptische Messungen Produktdatenblatt
BRUsens DTS BSTE
BRUsens DTS BSTE
BRUsens DTS BSTE
Verteiltes faseroptisches Temperatursensorkabel mit Metallbündelader, Stahldrahtarmierung und einem PA-Außenmantel Produktdatenblatt
BRUsens DSS V9
BRUsens DSS V9
BRUsens DSS V9
Verteiltes faseroptisches Dehnungsmesskabel mit Metallbündelader und einem strukturierten PA-Außenmantel zur Dehnungsmessung bis zu 1% Produktdatenblatt

Weitere Produkte auf Anfrage

image-circle
Andrea Fasciati

Director Sales

close

Ansprechpartner

image-circle
Andrea Fasciati

Director Sales

andrea.fasciati@solifos.com