Structural Health Monitoring

Uninterrupted monitoring of large infrastructure for increased safety and targeted preventative maintenance

Mode of operation

Large structures pose a significant risk to lives and property around them in case they fail. Continuous monitoring and preventative maintenance are therefore critical. Using embedded fiber-optic sensing cables, infrastructure operators not only detect changes on the surface, but also quickly localize anomalies deep inside a structure – critical information for targeted preventative maintenance and repair

Shielded strain sensor cables are mounted both on the surface and embedded in structures to register the slightest of shifts. Pre-strained cables enable the detection of swelling or shortening, and vibration-sensitive cables are used to detect micro-cracks when they arise.

Brillouin and Rayleigh-based systems are utilized for infrastructure monitoring applications. Since structural changes are long-term and don’t generally require 24/7 monitoring, mobile measurement systems can be used across multiple sites to maximize utilization and minimize cost. It’s best to equip monitored infrastructure from the beginning, during construction with the right sensor cables. Retrofit installation is possible but limited to surface monitoring.

Brillouin test equipment measures the light frequency shift of side-bands and transforms this into a strain value. Current systems enable detection and measurement down to a few Micro-Strain (micro-meters per meter).

In order to increase adhesion between the sensor and structure, we offer strain cables with a textured surface. Increasingly, multi-function “hybrid” cables are deployed to detect motion as well as sound and vibration.

Advantages

  • Access to critical data: Access to data from the inside of structures
  • Continuous data collection: Quantifiable “before / after” comparisons possible after an incident
  • Maintenance free installation: Maintenance-free sensors guarantee long-term operation over decades

Application Examples

Pipeline Monitoring

Depending on the application, strain sensing cables are mounted either directly on the pipe to be monitored or buried in the ground a few meters from the pipeline. Acoustic and temperature-sensing cables are utilised to monitor leakage along oil, gas, steam and water pipes. Incidents are localized quickly to within a few meters.

Installed products: BRUsens DSS V3, BRUsens DSS V4, BRUsens  DAS AC1, BRUsens DAS AC2

Bridges and Buildings

Bridge and building structural integrity can decline slowly over time, or quickly due to unexpected events like earthquakes, accidents or weather events. With Solifos’ distributed fiber-optic cables, slow changes can be continuously monitored over time. And, in the case of unexpected events, a comparison of before and after performance is done.

Installed products: BRUsens DSS V9, BRUsens DAS AC1

Piling Monitoring

In the most technologically advanced countries large buildings are monitored for their long-term stability. In particular, a shift in their foundations needs to be detected early in order to take corrective actions. Strain sensing fiber optic cables are attached directly to foundation pilings for this purpose. External access points simplify periodic measurement of before and after parameters.

Installed products: BRUsens DSS V1, BRUsens DSS V9

Dams and Levees

Dams and levees are at risk not just from movement but also earthquakes and moisture in the structure. Heatable sensor cables are used for early detection of seepage and moisture in these structures. In combination with a strain sensing cable, Brillouin interrogators can measure both properties at once.

Installed products: BRUsens DSS V1, BRUsens DSS V9

PRODUCTS

BRUsens DSS V1
BRUsens DSS V1
BRUsens DSS V1
Distributed fiber optic strain gauge cable, non-metallic, high strain sensitivity, with an EPR outer sheath, for strain measurements up to 1% Product Data Sheet
BRUsens DSS V3
BRUsens DSS V3
BRUsens DSS V3
Distributed fiber optic strain gauge cable with metal loose tube, metallic reinforcing wires and a structured PA outer sheath for strain measurement up to 1% Product Data Sheet
BRUsens DSS V4
BRUsens DSS V4
BRUsens DSS V4
Distributed fiber optic strain gauge cable with metal loose tube and a PA outer jacket for strain measurement up to 1% Product Data Sheet
BRUsens DSS V9
BRUsens DSS V9
BRUsens DSS V9
Distributed fiber optic strain gauge cable with metal loose tube and a structured PA outer sheath for strain measurement up to 1% Product Data Sheet
BRUsens DAS AC1
BRUsens DAS AC1
BRUsens DAS AC1
Acoustic Distributed fiber-optic cable with bundled metallic core and a PA outside shield Product Data Sheet
BRUsens DAS AC2
BRUsens DAS AC2
BRUsens DAS AC2
Distributed fiber optic acoustic measuring cable with metal loose tube, steel wire reinforcement and PA outer sheath Product Data Sheet

More products upon request

image-circle
Andrea Fasciati

Director Sales

close

Contact Person

image-circle
Andrea Fasciati

Director Sales

andrea.fasciati@solifos.com

Structural Health Monitoring

Ständige Überwachung der Bausubstanz zur gezielten präventiven Wartung von Strukturen und Bauten

Funktionsweise

Grosse Gebäude und Bauwerke können im Schadensfall zu einer Gefahr für Anwohner und die angrenzende Bevölkerung werden. Daher gilt die präventive Wartung dieser Strukturen als oberstes Prinzip. Durch eingebaute Sensor-Kabel können die Betreiber Veränderungen der Bausubstanz nicht nur an der Oberfläche, sondern auch in deren Inneren zeitnah feststellen und lokalisieren. Erst so wird eine zielgerichtete und massgeschneiderte Wartung möglich.

Armierte Dehnungssensor-Kabel können innen und aussen am Bauwerk installiert werden und registrieren kleinste Veränderungen und Bewegungen. Vorgespannte Dehnungskabel erlauben auch Stauchungen festzustellen und zu lokalisieren. In gewissen Fällen werden auch vibrationssensitive Glasfaserkabel verbaut um Mikro-Risse bei deren Entstehung sofort zu detektieren.

Brillouin- und Rayleigh-basierte Geräte kommen hier zum Einsatz. Da die Vorgänge in Baustrukturen in der Regel keine hohe Dynamik aufweisen, können mobile Messgeräte abwechselnd an verschiedenen Gebäuden und Bauwerken zum Einsatz kommen, da eine Rund-um-die-Uhr Überwachung nicht notwendig ist. Somit können Kosten optimiert werden. Es empfiehlt sich jedoch alle zu überwachenden Bauten von Anfang an mit Sensorkabeln auszurüsten. Eine nachträgliche Installation ist zwar möglich, beschränkt sich allerdings nur noch auf die Oberfläche.

Brillouin Geräte beobachten die Frequenzverschiebung der Seitenbänder und wandeln diese in Dehnungsangaben um. Heutige Geräte sind in der Lage, Verschiebungen im Bereich von wenigen Micro-Strain (Mikrometer pro Meter) zu messen.

Um die Haftung zwischen Struktur und Sensorkabel zu erhöhen, bieten wir Dehnungssensor-Kabel oft auch mit strukturierter Oberfläche an. Immer häufiger werden auch kombinierte Hybrid-Kabel eingesetzt, welche sowohl Bewegungen als auch Vibrationen und Geräusche detektieren.

VORTEILE

  • Zugang zu kritischen Daten: Zugang zu Daten aus dem Inneren von Bauwerken möglich
  • Kontinuierliche Datenerhebung: Quantifizierbare „Vorher / Nachher“ Vergleiche nach Vorfall möglich
  • Wartungsfreie Installation: Wartungsfreie Sensoren gewähren Langzeit-Betrieb über Jahrzehnte

Anwendungsbeispiele

Pipeline Monitoring

Dehnungskabel werden je nach Anwendungszweck entweder direkt am Rohrsystem fixiert, oder aber in einem Abstand von wenigen Metern im Erdreich vergraben. Um die Leitung (Öl, Gas, Dampf, Wasser etc.) auf Leckage zu überwachen kommen akustische oder temperatursensitive Kabel zum Einsatz. Die Lokalisierung einer Problemstelle geschieht auf wenige Meter genau.

Eingesetzte Produkte: BRUsens DSS V3, BRUsens DSS V4, BRUsens  DAS AC1, BRUsens DAS AC2

Brücken und Gebäude

Brücken und Gebäude sind entweder durch Langzeit Veränderungen, oder aber durch nicht-vorhersehbare Vorkommnisse wie Erdbeben oder Einschlag (Steinschlag, Lastwagen-Unfall) gefährdet. Langzeit Veränderungen lassen sich kontinuierlich beobachten. Im Falle von überraschenden Vorkommnissen wird oft ein Vorher-Nachher Vergleich der Messdaten vorgenommen.

Eingesetzte Produkte: BRUsens DSS V9, BRUsens DAS AC1

Pfahl Monitoring

In technologisch führenden Ländern werden immer häufiger auch grosse Gebäudekomplexe auf deren Langzeitverhalten beobachtet. Eine einseitige Absenkung der Fundamente soll frühzeitig erkannt, und behoben werden können. Hierzu werden Dehnungskabel direkt in die Fundament-Pfeiler verbaut. Externe Anschluss-Kästen erleichtern den Zugang zu sporadischen Messungen für „Vorher-Nachher“-Vergleiche.

Eingesetzte Produkte: BRUsens DSS V1, BRUsens DSS V9

Dämme & Staumauern

Dämme und Staumauern sind nicht nur durch Bewegungen der Struktur an sich, sondern auch durch Erdbeben und Sickerstellen gefährdet. Um Feuchtigkeit und Durchfluss in Dammanlagen frühzeitig zu erkennen kommen oft auch heizbare Temperaturkabel zum Einsatz. In Kombination mit Dehnungskabel können Brillouin-Geräte beide Einwirkungen zur selben Zeit beobachten.

Eingesetzte Produkte: BRUsens DSS V1, BRUsens DSS V9

Produkte

BRUsens DSS V1
BRUsens DSS V1
BRUsens DSS V1
Verteiltes faseroptisches Dehnungsmesskabel, nichtmetallisch, hohe Dehnungsempfindlichkeit, mit einem EPR-Außenmantel, für Dehnungsmessungen bis zu 1% Produktdatenblatt
BRUsens DSS V3
BRUsens DSS V3
BRUsens DSS V3
Verteiltes faseroptisches Dehnungsmesskabel mit Metallbündelader, metallischen Armierungsdrähten und einem strukturierten PA-Außenmantel zur Dehnungsmessung bis zu 1% Produktdatenblatt
BRUsens DSS V4
BRUsens DSS V4
BRUsens DSS V4
Verteiltes faseroptisches Dehnungsmesskabel mit Metallbündelader und einem PA-Außenmantel zur Dehnungsmessung bis zu 1% Produktdatenblatt
BRUsens DSS V9
BRUsens DSS V9
BRUsens DSS V9
Verteiltes faseroptisches Dehnungsmesskabel mit Metallbündelader und einem strukturierten PA-Außenmantel zur Dehnungsmessung bis zu 1% Produktdatenblatt
BRUsens DAS AC1
BRUsens DAS AC1
BRUsens DAS AC1
Verteiltes faseroptisches Akustikmesskabel mit Metallbündelader und einem PA-Außenmantel Produktdatenblatt
BRUsens DAS AC2
BRUsens DAS AC2
BRUsens DAS AC2
Verteiltes faseroptisches Akustikmesskabel mit Metallbündelader, Stahldrahtarmierung und PA-Außenmantel Produktdatenblatt

Weitere Produkte auf Anfrage

image-circle
Andrea Fasciati

Director Sales

close

Ansprechpartner

image-circle
Andrea Fasciati

Director Sales

andrea.fasciati@solifos.com